New Zealand theatre reviews, performace reviews and performing arts directory



New Zealand professional theatre & dance: reviews, news and your views
Contributing constructively to the continuing conversation...

Photo by Andrew Malmo

ELIZABETH O’CONNOR 1956-2014 [more]
Toi Whakaari: NZ Drama School Auckland visit
4-8/8 [more
CNZ To Invest In National Touring
[more]
Open Letter from The Clitlective
[more]
THEATRE REVIEWING DISCUSSED [more]

SUPPORT / BE SUPPORTED BY THEATREVIEW  
Join the PAD as a Company, Co-op, Individual or School, or
Donate to TheatreviewStep up for THEATREVIEW – [more]

Feedback Requested to Auck’s Draft Arts & Culture Strategic Action Plan by 4pm 24/07 [more]
THE PERFORMANCE ARCADE 2015, Artist Forum 27/7; submit by 1/8 [more]
Playmarket: Plays For The Young, submit by 31/7
[more]
SUMMER SHAKESPEARE WELLINGTON 2015 SEEKS STAGE MANAGER, APPLY BY 1/8 [more]
Summer Shakespeare Wellington 2015 seeks Marketing and Publicity Manager, apply by 1/8 [more]
FLY BATS HOME update + fundraising deadline 1 August [more]
ATC: The Next Stage Festival of New Work, submit by 4/8 [more]    
SILO: WORKING TITLES 2015, submit by 20/8 [more]



Latest Theatre and Performance Reviews
A MIDSUMMER NIGHT’S DREAM at Globe Theatre, Dunedin
reviewed by Terry MacTavish 26 Jul 2014
Delicious wavering between delicate illusion and rude reality
The Globe’s tribe of eager young actors is set to enchant a new generation with this wildly enthusiastic production of Shakespeare’s completely perfect comedy, A Midsummer Night’s Dream. The overflowing auditorium is buzzing with the friends who have flocked to see them, theatrical and totally non-theatrical types, inspired by the lively Facebook page which has tantalised with such delights as ‘prequels’ – from aspirational audition tapes, to a back-story for Helena and Hermia charmingly filmed in the Botanic Gardens. [more]

See also reviews by:
 Barbara Frame (Otago Daily Times);

KISS THE FISH at Forum North, Whangarei
reviewed by David Stevens 26 Jul 2014
Warmed by Indian sun, vitality and imagination
If my mood is somewhat winter grumpy, that changes within minutes of Kiss the Fish starting. Happily, the theatre is full and I soon have a great big smile on my face (initially charmed by a group of chattering monkeys), and I do not stop smiling for one second of the next two and a half hours. [more]

See also reviews by:
 Mark Houlahan
 Nik Smythe
 Sharu Delilkan (TheatreScenes - the Auckland Theatre Blog);
 Paul Simei-Barton (New Zealand Herald);
 Simon Wilson (Metro Arts);
 John Smythe
 Laurie Atkinson (The Dominion Post);
 Gail Tresidder
 Karen Beaumont

Photo by Andrew Malmo
MAMIL: MIDDLE AGED MAN IN LYCRA at Herald Theatre, Aotea Centre, Auckland LIVE, Auckland
reviewed by Vanessa Byrnes 26 Jul 2014
Pearl, peccadillo or just too pervy?
At nearly two hours long, Mark Hadlow is to be congratulated for this massive solo feat. He cycles, he sings opera, and he nimbly jumps between ten characters including Tom Jones, an Indian dairy owner and a South African property developer. So let me state up front that Hadlow’s talent and drive is unquestionable, as is the production quality of this show. [more]


LET’S GO DUTCH at Fringe Bar, 26 Allen St, Wellington
reviewed by Deborah Eve Rea 25 Jul 2014
Playful showmanship
In Let’s Go Dutch, Alkemade performs a mixture of slight of hand, card tricks and close-up illusion among others. The show is divided into segments marked by a recorded voice, which asks questions to Alkemade about his life and experiences. Alkemade answers with some storytelling to the audience and a magic trick to conclude his response. [more]


BILL MASSEY’S TOURISTS at Whitireia Performance Centre, 25-27 Vivian Street, Wellington
reviewed by John Smythe 25 Jul 2014
A profoundly insightful and mutually personal shared experience
Amid the plethora of plays, television dramas and films produced to commemorate the centenary of World War One – the so-called ‘Great War’; ‘The war to end all wars’ – Jan Bolwell’s Bill Massey’s Tourists stands out as a very personal work that distils to its essence so-called humanity’s endless struggle with itself, in the pursuit of … what? [more]


SISTER ANZAC at Torpedo Bay Navy Museum, 64 King Edward Parade, Devonport, Auckland
reviewed by Johnny Givins 24 Jul 2014
Remarkable ‘herstory’
A unique window on our history opens up with Geoff Allen’s Sister ANZAC. It tells the story of the remarkable women who were the NZ nurses at Anzac Cove in WW1. However it also provides dramatic, human and emotionally satisfying characters that become living history. [more]


DUST PALACE: WITH A STRANGER at Theatre Royal, Nelson
reviewed by Gail Tresidder 23 Jul 2014
Amazing – but why keep so much secret?
A programme, a programme, my kingdom for a programme – please, Dust Palace, allow for those amongst the audience who wish to know the names of the cast, what the music was and some hint towards what is doubtless a deep and meaningful evocation of life, love and the whole darn thing! [more]

See also reviews by:
 Sharu Delilkan (TheatreScenes - the Auckland Theatre Blog);

Photo by Stephen A'Court
A VIEW FROM THE BRIDGE at Circa One, Wellington
reviewed by John Smythe 21 Jul 2014
The corrosive effects of passions denied
Everything depends on our being convinced that Eddie Carbone is a hard-working loving husband and uncle – truly loved by his wife and niece – whose inability to acknowledge and understand the passions that curdle his guts, let alone take responsibility for them, set the course for the tragic outcome. Gavin Rutherford embodies the role utterly in a profoundly complex and riveting performance. [more]

See also reviews by:
 Laurie Atkinson (The Dominion Post);

PŪTŌRINO HILL at Q Theatre, 305 Queen St, Auckland
reviewed by Lexie Matheson 20 Jul 2014
A profound work of considerable theatrical dexterity
Te Kohe Tuhaka’s excellent production of Chris Malloy’s stunning new play Pūtōrino Hill further enriches the legacy of Taki Rua and provides us with a magnificent example of what a top quality theatre experience should be. From the moment we enter the Q Theatre Loft to the instant I nick five grapes from the table of kai in the foyer before descending the stairs to a freezing Queen Street, I am in another world, a world of mystery, enigma, anger and enchantment. [more]

See also reviews by:
 John Smythe
 Ewen Coleman (The Dominion Post);
 James Wenley (TheatreScenes: The Auckland Theatre Blog);
 Janet McAllister (New Zealand Herald);

ACHE at Court Theatre Pub Charity Studio, Christchurch
reviewed by Lindsay Clark 20 Jul 2014
Style and a dash of vinegar to relish
It is no surprise to read that this neatly crafted romantic comedy won the 2012 Pumphouse Theatre Award for an Auckland playwright in its fledgling stage, before the workshopping and public reading processes which brought it to the current premier production. Its roots are in middle class contemporary urban culture, where bright young professionals can get away with indecision and 'malaise' before the realities of life put the nips in. [more]


YE JO HAI ZINDAGI – AN INVISIBLE LOVE at Herald Theatre, Aotea Centre, Auckland LIVE, Auckland
reviewed by Rahul Gandhi 20 Jul 2014
Pioneering with well deserved pride
The festive spirit is palpable as a community gathers around the Herald theatre in Aotea Square, weathering a cold and wet night in stark contrast to their spirits, which aren’t dampened in the least. Familiar faces beam at each other, obviously excited of staging a show in their vernacular tongue. [more]


WASH YOUR MOUTH OUT at Westpoint Performing Arts Centre, Auckland
reviewed by Bronwyn Elsmore 20 Jul 2014
A little more flossing and rinsing required?
Knock, knock. Who’s there? Arthur. Arthur who? Arthur jokes likely to be funny if there’s no crudity? That’s what I’ve come to find out. The debut show of Wash Your Mouth Out bills itself as a night of stand-up comedy focussing entirely on clean humour ... [more]


Chat Back
"This production does everything it should with real flair.  I am particularly impressed with the way the ..." - John Smythe   [read full comment]

"Thanks Dan, fixed now - and my apology for not picking it up at the time." - Editor   [read full comment]

"Thanks for a lovely review. Important to note that the grandma in this season is played by Hamish Parkinson, n..." - Dan Bain   [read full comment]

"This is a very clear rendition of OTHELLO. I discover things I haven’t realised before and some of the i..." - John Smythe   [read full comment]

"Thanks for taking the time to respond to my comment Candice, I really do appreciate it and the points that you..." - Christopher Stratton   [read full comment]

"Hi Christopher, I also wondered about these portrayals. I deliberately didn't say too much about much of the d..." - Candice Lewis   [read full comment]

"I was highly offended by this show, specifically the portrayal of mental illness. As the reviewer states, ther..." - Christopher Stratton   [read full comment]

"Corin Havers also writes, “I remember a time when reviews were written for the audience, not researchers..." - John Smythe   [read full forum post]

""He could actively seek out and nurture the brave, risky critics instead of driving them away," writes Corin H..." - John Smythe   [read full forum post]

"As one of the reviewers who may or may not be included in the critique offered above, I want to commend the pe..." - Dr Jonathan W Marshall   [read full forum post]

"What, are you still here?" - nik smythe   [read full forum post]

"Matt Baker asks ‘Why was the complaint "that too many Theatreview reviews were too glowing and not criti..." - Corin Havers   [read full forum post]


News
21 Jul 2014 - ELIZABETH O'CONNOR 1956-2014 It is with great sadness that we note the passing of Elizabeth O’Connor, a theatre stalwart of Christchurch, a valued teacher, scholar, dramaturge, Literary Manager at the Court Theatre and a sometime reviewer for Theatreview and Radio NZ.   [more]

18 Jul 2014 - ARTIST FORUM The Performance Arcade 2015 Sunday 27 July, 2pm-4pm at The Hub, Toi Poneke, Abel Smith Street, Wellington. The Playground is running an informal artist forum and workshop for anyone applying to be part of The Performance Arcade 2015 or who is interested in making a contribution to the event.   [more]

17 Jul 2014 - SUMMER SHAKESPEARE (Wellington) 2015: Timon of Athens Marketing and Publicity Manager   [more]

17 Jul 2014 - SUMMER SHAKESPEARE WELLINGTON 2015 SEEKS STAGE MANAGER SUMMER SHAKESPEARE (Wellington) 2015: Timon of Athens   [more]

16 Jul 2014 - FEEDBACK REQUESTED TO AUCKLAND COUNCIL’S DRAFT ARTS & CULTURE STRATEGIC ACTION PLAN by 4pm 24/07 Auckland Council published the Draft Arts & Culture Strategic Action Plan (ACSAP) on Monday 22 June and has invited written feedback and input on the Draft Plan. Submissions close at 4pm Thursday 24 July. A copy of the summary of the Draft Plan is available online here – and printed copies are now at libraries and Local Board offices across Auckland.   [more]

14 Jul 2014 - Te Kura Toi Whakaari o Aotearoa New Zealand Drama School We're hitting the road...to Auckland! Toi Whakaari: NZ Drama School is heading up to the 'big smoke' this August! We'll be getting in touch with individual schools very shortly, if you'd like us to visit your school feel free to get in touch with us as well ...   [more]

8 Jul 2014 - SILO: WORKING TITLES 2015 A development programme for female writers. WORKING TITLES has been part of Silo Theatre's development arm since 2012. In 2015, they are looking to create a development opportunity specifically for female theatre makers.   [more]

8 Jul 2014 - ATC: THE NEXT STAGE FESTIVAL OF NEW WORK Auckland Theatre Company's Literary Unit is calling for submissions of full-length plays (either original works or adaptations) for its annual national festival of new work, The Next Stage.   [more]